Ladies, due to the rain washing out our Stableford, 1st District Brooch last thursday, we will now run a Single Stableford 1st Dist Brooch, inconjunction with the Team event on 15th March, 2012
Our 1st Hole is back in play it is COMPULSORY TEE UP on the new area. That means that you MUST tee up if you don't apart from wrecking the new work it is a 2 STROKE PENALTY
Also there has been some confusion regarding our bridges, on our course they are all an integeral part of the course and all bridges are in the hazard, according to the colour pegs around the water eg: red or yellow, so you can hit off the bridge if you wish, you may ground your club on a construction in a hazard, rule (13.4 note) or you may take a penalty and drop according to the rules applying to the appropriate colour peg. You are also able to call any ball unplayable, take a penalty and play according to your rules book or little card with simplified rules.
Another peculiar query came up the other day, I putted my ball into the hole on the green before my partner had retrieved her ball, as she was filling in the nearest the pin. It was thought by one of the partners that this was a penalty, but after referring to the rule book and then with Joan O'Connell, our Rules guru, it is not a penalty, although not advised as the ball may jump out again when hitting the first ball and this would incur another stroke to get it back in the hole.